Skip to content

Coptic Binding with Oxidized Copper Plate Covers

April 11, 2011

My friend Kristin had her dad crimp and drill these plates for me years ago, and then we had fun oxidizing the plates in a bath of ammonia, sawdust and rock salt. The result was very pretty, if I do say so myself. This month, I _finally_ got around to making a book with the plates. I think the copper plates make beautiful covers. I’d like to play more with copper in my bindings.

(The book is available for sale at my Etsy Shop)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2011 2:17 pm

    Wonderful result,strong vivid colors!Reminds me pictures of carribean oceans!
    btw-the pictures in tonga part 2 don’t appear,don’t know,maybe it just my pc.

    • Lili permalink*
      April 11, 2011 2:27 pm

      Kouts, thanks for the heads up on the Tonga part 2–I’m not sure what to say–it shows up on mine?! I just resized the photos to a smaller format–are they still hiding from you?

      • April 11, 2011 4:15 pm

        That must have been the problem,I can see them all now!Good work!

  2. April 11, 2011 2:21 pm

    Love it! Love your site as well. I’ve only just begun to explore the art of bookbinding and am astounded by all of the possibilities!

    • Lili permalink*
      April 11, 2011 2:28 pm

      Anne, thanks! I just visited your blog–fun stuff!

  3. April 12, 2011 9:50 pm

    Amazing covers Lili! : )

Leave a Reply

