Skip to content

Showing off some of my students’ work

January 7, 2011

This past semester I had the privilege of teaching bookbinding at the University of Utah in their beautiful Book Arts studio.  I had a lot of fun, and the students were terrific. Here is some of their work:

Coptic Binding:

Japanese Stab Binding and Chitzu:

I was a little bit stunned with the creativity of some of these students: During my demo I had the class sew mini books, almost like sewing cards, just so that they could see how simple the construction is, but I also wanted them to see how it’s possible to come up with your own sewing patterns. They seemed to take that challenge and run with it: Many of these sewing patterns are the students’ own designs:


this one and the photo below are the same books

reverse side

Flatback and Round Case:

Little Box:

Final Projects:
For their finals, the students wrote proposals of what they would like to make. Here were some of my favorites:

The cover to the above book is constructed of old shingles that the student had found. Kind of cool, but crumbly, and smelly, too ;)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 11:39 am

    These are really cool! Thanks for sharing!!

  2. January 7, 2011 5:58 pm

    Wow, these are amazing! I love the coptic bindings. Ames :)

  3. Helen Hall permalink
    January 7, 2011 9:17 pm

    I am so impressed with your students’ creative work! I’m sure they loved you for a teacher, and I hope more opportunities like this are in your future!

  4. January 8, 2011 6:16 am

    Verry beautyfull work,the students are in good progress.
    Thank you for sharing the foto’s.
    regards, Dirk from Belgium
    http://digeruma2005.skynetblogs.be/

    please look at http://bookworksinprogress.blogspot.com/search/label/cockrambinding
    this is the blog off a good friend bookbinder of my.

  5. January 12, 2011 4:29 pm

    WHY did I not take a book binding class when I had the chance? I must find another opportunity. Those are beautiful!

  6. Toni permalink
    January 15, 2011 12:08 am

    Lili, thank you so much for such an enjoyable class! I appreciate you sharing your talent. Also, I’m honored you shared my books! Thank you!

  7. younis permalink
    February 20, 2011 2:42 am

    you are amazing .. thank you very much

  8. May 2, 2011 4:54 am

    Hello, thank you for a fantastic blog! I was wondering if you have got any tutorial for how to bind books like this one; http://lh6.ggpht.com/__5vbMxUYtn8/TSY-LlAl3zI/AAAAAAAARCE/VaKfKLBZO2k/s800/IMG_3434.jpg

    Really beautiful books! Thanks:)

    – Kjersti Johanne (Norway)

Leave a Reply

