Skip to content

Headed to Tonga

June 28, 2010

A couple months ago I was invited by a former art professor to come to Tonga for ten days. The idea, as far as I understand, is to join a group of American students with a group of local Tongan artists to make paper and dyes from native materials. Then we’ll each make an artist’s book, and the final books will be shown in a traveling show. This sounded beyond fun to me, but I was pretty sure I couldn’t justify it… but then I decided I couldn’t not justify it… I’m going! I leave tomorrow. My travel buddy Shannon is coming, too, and after our time in Tonga, we’ll hop a plane over to New Zealand for 10 days of exploring the North Island. Too bad it’s the dead of winter down there, but I’ll take what I can get! (A trip to the South Pacific has been on the top of my “if I get to do any international traveling this decade” list… as long as I was going to be in Tonga… I had to hit New Zealand, too!)  I’ll be sure to report back… wish me luck!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2010 9:26 pm

    Oh, what fun! I’ve been thinking of Tonga lately… I loved my time there. Which island(s) are you going to?

  2. Jim permalink
    June 30, 2010 7:19 am

    Have a nice holiday,wish you all the fun you can get!As for new zealand say ‘too good’ its the dead of winter not ‘too bad’!I envy you

Leave a Reply

