Skip to content

Tini’s Plaquettes

March 8, 2010

These are the practice pieces that Tini Miura made in 1964 as part of her studies to become a Master Designer Bookbinder. I asked her if it would be all right if I post them on my blog, and she said of course. Click on the tiles for a larger view.

These plaquettes took Tini 3 months to complete. It takes an understanding of the process to properly appreciate the skill involved in each of these. Each line is done with a hand-held brass tool called a gouge, which is heated and pressed into the leather. In my next post I’ll talk a little bit more about the process.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 8:02 am

    I am so glad that she let you post these! The photos are great and they are such wonderful examples! It was also fun to see what you and your classmates did in your workshop with her. Thank you!

  2. Jim permalink
    March 9, 2010 10:59 am

    Thanks so much for sharing!

  3. March 9, 2010 7:25 pm

    Marvelous! I’ll take three of each. Can I have them by Thursday?

  4. March 11, 2010 12:36 pm

    ooh. i wish all my books could have covers like these! p.s. did you see that you won Jeannie’s giveaway! email me at eva at sycamorestreetpress.com with your mailing address. Congrats!

  5. Lili permalink*
    March 11, 2010 8:27 pm

    No way, Eva! I feel so lucky–I never win drawings! I really do love the print!

  6. May 30, 2010 3:18 pm

    Lili,
    You are sooooo talented….and could definitely bask in Tini’s genus. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for photographing and displaying Tini’s training plaquettes from 1964 (from her training in France?).
    I do envy your week with Tini studying for she is a magnificent teacher, who is not only generous but humble, and no one can touch the quality of her work – especially in this area – and even more, I envy that *great big hug* at the end of your photo essay.
    All the best, Judith

  7. Kristin robinson permalink
    June 24, 2010 12:14 pm

    These are all so beautiful. I am about to go home and make books with my friend there. We have been doing stuff together for a couple years now and I love it. I made the text block and she is making the covers.

    I found a place in Brooklyn where I can learn how to letter press called the arm. I am excited to take on the project this summer.

    I want to eventually go to AAB and learn leather. Hopefully one day.

    I heart you and hope you are well. Come to NYC soon.

    xoxo,

    klr

Trackbacks

  1. Tini’s Plaquettes from 1964 « Plants Need Water
  2. Tini Miura in Person | American Bound

Leave a Reply

