Skip to content

Fine Bindings up close

November 5, 2009

I first joined the Guild of Book Workers perhaps a decade ago. But not once had I attended the annual seminar. This year, with the prodding (and financial assistance!) of my boss, I made it out to San Francisco. And it was great. A very short, but sweet time.

The highlight, for me, was on Friday evening when we were invited to the home of a gentleman who collects fine bindings. The books were all out and available for us to gawk at (and even handle)–I have never in my life seen so many spectacular design bindings in one place–nor have I been at liberty to look at them so closely. The binders/designers represented included Michael Wilcox, Philip Smith, Paul Bonet and many more (well known names if you’re into this sort of thing). Below are a few of my favorites. (I’m trying out this gallery feature–click on the image for a larger version).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 8:16 am

    Hi Lili! It was nice to meet you in San Francisco! I didn’t make the connection when I met you, that I already subscribed to your blog. :) It will be nice to picture the face behind your posts. This is a great one by the way. Excellent photos of those lovely bindings.

  2. Jim permalink
    November 5, 2009 10:17 am

    Long time since you last posted about books but you kept your promise!Those are astounding bindings,I understand your excitement and awe since it is a great rarity to have the chance to see and touch such work.I myself have a soft spot for Bonet(but then again,who bookbinder hasen’t?!).Thank you so much for sharing.Upload some more if you can :)

  3. Mary Hickman permalink
    June 6, 2010 12:27 pm

    Hi,

    I’m interested in contacting the collector about this stunning Bonet: https://lilbookbinder.files.wordpress.com/2009/11/paul-bonet-1-1.jpg. Would you know either the title of this book or how I could get in contact with the collector (I’m a book studies PhD student)? Thanks for your help!

Leave a Reply

