Skip to content

Jack-O-Lantern, 2009

October 27, 2009

My apologies, the following post is not about bookbinding, but it’s a pretty pumpkin, so… :)
But rest assured I’m still keeping busy with books, and I promise to get some long-overdue bookish posts in this blog… before the end of the year ;)

I’ll miss this year’s annual family carving because I’ll be in San Francisco for the Guild of Bookworkers convention. I was a little bitter that they picked Halloween weekend, but on the other hand, San Francisco at Halloween could be interesting.

Anyway, I was happy that I got to carve a pumpkin tonight at a church activity. Last year’s pumpkin took me a couple hours to design and a few more to carve, so I’m proud of myself that I whipped this year’s puppy (or owl) up in about half an hour! (But only because Stephanie was ridiculously kind in that she scooped it out and then let me design and carve it–now that I’ve got pictures, I think I’ll deliver it to her so that she can enjoy it).

IMG_9162

lili carving tools

(Yep, I just so happen to have a box full of carving tools, which I brought for the cause). I shared–but I only let people use my tools if they would leave me with a shoe as collateral. Ha.) Oh–and you can see that I used the new craft punch that my mom gave me for my birthday as inspiration for the design.

lili owl pumpkin 2009

One Comment leave one →
  1. Taylor Crosby permalink
    December 2, 2009 7:30 pm

    LILI!
    Just this evening I found your blog – linked through the AAB blog.
    Love it!! You’ve included so much beautiful and fun material, I’m inspired. Especially enjoyed your comments about the San Francisco shindig, THE PUMPKIN, your Escalante and England adventures,etc. etc. And what a nice resource you provide us for identifying the leathers.
    Thanks very much.
    Will you be back at AAB next year? I’ll be in Renate’s paper conservation and Suzanne’s paper treatment classes…hope to see you there, or somewhere, soon.
    fondly, Taylor

Leave a Reply

