Skip to content

More Sewn Board Bindings

June 21, 2009

When I moved up to Salt Lake City, a few of my new friends were “besmitten” (I think that’s the word Vivian used) when they first learned that my roommate Kohleen and I are both book conservators and bookbinders. I had been invited to teach a sewn board structure at BYU as a guest instructor, so I invited my new friends to come along for the demonstration. A few days later we got together for a bookbinding dinner party. It took us two sessions (spaced a couple months apart, whoops!) to finish, but here are the final books!

I had thrown together a text block for each of the girls. When I make this structure, I like to wrap each section in some kind of special paper, since the spine is exposed–I think it makes the book extra lovely. :)

The book pictured below was the one I sewed for the demonstration. The marbled papers are my own (I made them).

Kohleen put this text block together with her own paste papers and a cave paper cover:

Kathryn made this one: I’m not sure what the cover is–it’s just some nice heavy artist grade paper. The sections are wrapped in my own recycled papers that I made when I was probably 16 or 17 years old–it was nice to put them to use!

Shannon sewed this one up. The cover and insides are my recycled papers again.

There are two more books whose binders couldn’t make it to the 2nd binding session. I’ll try to get photos of the last two when they’re finished.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2009 10:57 pm

    This technic is one of few that i haven´t been eable to learn… like i told before in Estonia this bookbinding is not so popular jet and if i wan´t to learn something i must find the tutorials on the internet.
    If i´m not wrong last bookbinding book was bublished in 70.s
    Sad :(
    But i enjoy watching your work, its like a small inspiration, that there is so much to learn :D

  2. July 11, 2009 10:06 pm

    I’ve just found your site via Tulibri (the source of many good things) and I’m going to take my time reading through your posts. I really like what I’ve seen so far. I’ll leave a link to your blog when I next post on mine – now that I’ve found you I’d like to tell others who will also enjoy your books. Carol (in Australia)

Leave a Reply

