Skip to content

Mapping the West: My fold-out book for the show

May 15, 2009

As I approach this collaboration between Liverpool and Utah-based artists, I can’t help but consider the connections between the two places and their people.

In the 19th century, millions of emigrants left England through Liverpool to go West–including some of my own LDS ancestors who eventually settled in Utah.

Utah and the British Isles are the two parts of the world most familiar to me, and they are the two places I can comfortably call home. Having returned recently from living in the English countryside, the two places naturally juxtapose themselves in my mind. When I am in England, I often find myself missing Utah, and vice versa. This fold-out book is a visual exploration of the relationship between the two places I call home.


7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2009 5:13 pm

    I love that. I love how you put the two together, but also how they are different.

  2. May 19, 2009 9:28 am

    Wow…i like the colors :D
    Nice new look at your blog :)

  3. May 19, 2009 10:48 am

    Lili!
    You are extraordinary. I am so excited to see what new incredible things you will do. I am a fan for life. The exhibition looked fabulous, you should be extremely pleased, I will show Lizzie, Maureen and David shortly. Bravo!
    Lou

  4. June 3, 2009 4:18 pm

    Hi, I enjoyed looking at your work for the exhibition. Always good to learn about collaborative projects with the UK where I live.
    I was also interested in a comment left about the term ‘book arts’. Although I am mainly a traditional craft bookbinder, I do not view ‘book arts’ as the enemy. We should remember that nothing stands still – not even bookbinding – and new ideas should be welcomed. More importantly, younger people who are attracted to the artistic side of bookbinding often wish to learn the more traditional side later to extend their skills. We need to encourage this interacction so that bookbinding does not become a craft/art only practised by a decreasing older generation.
    Good luck with your work!

  5. Lili permalink*
    June 3, 2009 7:13 pm

    Polly, thanks or leaving a comment. You are right. I am coming to recognize the need for the various terms and the different categories within book arts. Like any media, each observer will like some things more than others according to their own personal taste. The art world would get pretty boring if everyone painted in the exact same style. I suppose it’s kudos for “book arts” to have defined itself as its own genre in the arts. And actually, I find much of what I see in book arts shows to be quite interesting to me conceptually–but like I say, sometimes (not all the time) I wish that more of it was better crafted in addition to being interesting philosophically. But that’s just my own personal taste :)

    The proliferation of interest in book arts and the necessity for different names for the various types of books, book sculptures and book art being produced is evidence that the handbound book is thriving, and I do think that’s great.

  6. Lili permalink*
    June 3, 2009 7:27 pm

    Also, I am all for the generous exchange of ideas and skills among all who are interested in creating books. You’re right, arists should be making books if they want…
    I am a trained artist as well as a bookbinder, and I appreciate concept at least as much as I do craft… so I’m especially excited when I see what can result when the two are skillfully and thoughtfully combined.

Trackbacks

  1. Art by Book | Grimm Tales

Leave a Reply

