Skip to content

The Frontex is moved

November 7, 2011

I’m a little late getting to this, but all the presses are in the studio! My table is set up, and today I pared leather in my new studio. It feels great to have a space to work in again!

Here’s some photos of the Frontex-moving operation:

Loaded onto a forklift…

and onto the trailer…

Carefully driven over to the church (studio)…

Sadly, I didn’t get pictures of the most delicate part of the procedure: Getting the press up those five steps and inside the room. (I was too busy biting my nails). We had to get a forklift with a boom. We drove the lift over to the steps, and extended the arm into the room. (It just barely extended far enough… I’ll spare the details of how tricky it actually was). Then we had to move the press with a pallet lift across double boards to support the floor and keep the press at the level of the two boards where it would be placed. Anyway, here it is in its new place, next to the frame of the C&P and the Vandercook (since, then, Michael’s already put the C&P back together again! What a man!)

The studio is slowly coming together. We’re trying to do a lot with a relatively small space, but we’re thrilled to have the presses all together in once place, and as I keep saying, I’m very happy to have a space to work on my books.

I’ll post more as the studio continues to come together…

-Lili

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 4:00 am

    I sit here in Sweden, and am happy for you having a studio to work in, good luck with everything.
    Lena

  2. November 8, 2011 10:48 am

    This is so exciting! I know how nail-biting it is to move this equipment around. I can’t wait to see all finished.

  3. Stephen Huntington permalink
    November 8, 2011 12:55 pm

    Good with you.

  4. November 8, 2011 8:14 pm

    so glad, Lili that you have a new space to work. Thinking of you and all the good time we had in Paris. Congratulations on your new space.
    Monique

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

