Skip to content

Moving a C&P Letterpress

October 19, 2011

I have a friend who, over the past year, has acquired three letterpresses: A Vandercook, a Frontex, and a Chandler & Price. They are all in different locations at the moment, and she’s been eager to get them all into one space. She’s recently found a space in the basement of an old church in the Avenues in Salt Lake City. We’re excited about the location.

I have a vested interest in these developments, because I will be sub-letting some of the space so that I will have my own workbench for bookbinding. I’m very excited.

And so begins the moving of the presses. Here’s what we were doing last week:

Here’s the C&P before moving it. It was in a little room of an elderly woman’s basement (her husband had been a master printer and this was his at-home hobby press). There was no way the press was coming out without taking the press apart…

So here it is stripped down.

And here we are hauling the letterpress frame up the stairs.

It fit through the door, literally within millimeters.

Now to just get it into the truck.

We did it! Getting the press into the actual building went quite smoothly. The door was 5 steps up, but it happened to be the exact height of the truck, so we were able to just back the truck up to the threshold and slide the press onto a pallet jack. I don’t have photos yet, but I’ll be sure to check in as the studio continues to come together.

The new studio will be equipped with the three presses, a light exposure unit, a small book press (mine) and a large book press (loaned from a friend), a guillotine loaned from my boyfriend (it’s been sitting unused in a storage unit), a board shear loaned from another friend, as well as three large 4×8 foot community tables (as well as individual work stations). It’s enough to get started. Did I mention I’m excited?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Helen Hall permalink
    October 19, 2011 10:54 am

    What an amazing cooperative effort that was! The photographs made us feel like we were there observing. Thank you so much for sharing the project and your feelings about this new venture. I hope you spend many happy and creative hours in your new work space.

  2. Amy permalink
    October 19, 2011 11:56 am

    Congratulations on the studio developments :)

  3. October 19, 2011 12:04 pm

    My family also know how it is to moove big bookbindery machines, so I think it looks familiar. I would find your situation very exciting, so I wish you good luck from Sweden.

  4. January 22, 2014 7:29 am

    Can I ask what your setup was to get the press frame up the stairs with that chain? I’ve got to move an 8 x 12 C&P down some stairs fairly soon, and I’m pretty much at a loss for how to do it…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 175 other followers

